fbpx

The Point Arena Lighthouse is home to a number of special events throughout the year. From holiday celebrations to educational programs, there is a lot going on at the Point. Please review the calendar below for the dates and times of our offerings, and be sure to scroll down for detailed information on such events as the monthly Night Tour, Lighthouse Lecture Series, Wind & Whale Celebration, Cruise the Coast and more.

Check back frequently for updates and mark your own calendar with something special to do at the Lighthouse this month!

Tuesday, November 12

Gates 5 pm | Tour 5:30pm

Saturday, November 16

4 p.m.

Wednesday, December 11

Gates 5 pm | Tour 5:30pm

Friday, November 29 through Tuesday, December 24

Gift Store Holiday Sale – savings on select items up to 50% off!

(Supporting Hometown Holidays)

10 am – 3:30pm

Saturday, December 21

Lighthouse Lecture Series

         CANCELLED

4pm

Friday, January 10

Gates 5:30 pm | Tour 6pm

Saturday, January 11

Gates 6:30 pm | Tour 7pm

Saturday, February 8

Gates 5:30 pm | Tour 6pm

Monday, March 9

Gates 7 pm | Tour 7:30pm

Tuesday, April 7

Gates 7:30 pm | Tour 8pm

Saturday, April 18

10am – 3:30pm

Thursday, May 7

Gates 8:30 pm | Tour 9pm

Friday, June 5

Gates 8:30 pm | Tour 9pm

Saturday, June 6

Gates 9:30 pm | Tour 10pm

Friday, July 3

Gates 8:30 pm | Tour 9pm

Saturday, August 1

Gates 8 pm | Tour 8:30pm

Monday, August 3

Gates 8:30 pm | Tour 9pm

Friday, August 7

10am – 4:30pm

Tuesday, September 1

Gates 7:30 pm | Tour 8pm

Saturday, September 19

4pm

Thursday, October 1

Gates 7 pm | Tour 7:30pm

Saturday, October 31

Gates 6:30 pm | Tour 7pm

Monday, November 30

Gates 5 pm | Tour 5:30pm

Tuesday, December 29

Gates 5 pm | Tour 5:30pm

Night Tours Every Full Moon!

Join us for the unique experience of climbing the 145 steps to the top of the Lighthouse Tower at night and enjoying an unparalleled view of the full moon – weather permitting, of course!  Night Tours are held most every full moon year round.

Point Arena Lighthouse Full Moon by Tom Birdsell

Our October 12 Night Tour sold out.  Our next one is the  Full Beaver Moon Night Tour on Tuesday, November 12, 2019. 

Reservations required!  The tour is limited to 20 guests, so we recommend you make your reservations well in advance of the tour date but at least 3 days before the date of the tour.  Call 877-725-4448, ext. 1 or 707-882-2809, ext. 1 to make your reservations.  Only $30 per person or $25 per person for two or more guests.  

*NOTE: Tours will take place regardless of the weather conditions if the minimum number of guests sign up. Guests understand that visibility could be limited due to fog, rain, etc. and there is no guarantee that the full moon will be visible during the tour.

Lighthouse Lecture Series

Photo by Craig Tooley

On Saturday, November 16  at 4 p.m. Jeanne Jackson will present “The Fascinating World of Fungi as part of the Lighthouse Lecture Series.

Mendonoma Sightings author Jeanne Jackson, joined by fungi foragers Hal Ferguson and Catherine Miller, will present a slideshow of edible and non-edible mushrooms that grow on the Mendonoma Coast. You will learn some of the basics of foraging, a fun activity for the entire family. This lecture will be perfect for beginning foragers.

Photo by Craig Tooley

Fungus has symbiotic relationships with various trees. You will learn which type of tree you might hope to find a particular type of mushroom, when the first mushrooms appear and what time of the year various edibles appear.  If the first edible mushrooms have appeared in time for this presentation a tasting will be provided. Recipes for some of the most common edibles will also be shared.

Jeanne moved to the coast 21 years ago from the San Francisco Bay Area where she grew up. 11 years ago she queried Editor/Publisher of the Independent Coast Observer, J. Stephen McLaughlin, about writing a column where people share their nature sightings. Jackson’s popular column has expanded to be one full page (and sometimes more). To further share the many photos she receives every week, she started a daily Sightings blog from her website www.mendonomasightings.com. Jeanne enjoys hiking with her husband, Richard, and their rescue golden retriever, Sunny, believing that her connection with Nature adds immensely to her life.

 Please call 877-725-4448 ext. 1 or 707-882-2809 ext. 1 for more information or to make a reservation.