Point Arena Lighthouse Keepers, Inc. (PALKI) Scholarships

Image by LuMaxArt

The Point Arena Lighthouse Keepers, Inc. (PALKI) Board of Directors provides up to $2,000 in scholarships to local graduating Seniors and previous graduates to support post-secondary education.  PALKI  provide applications and instructions to the local High Schools each year, and they are available from Counselors and in the Library.

Candidates must reside in the general area (Point Arena, Manchester, Gualala, etc.), plan to attend an accredited college, community college, or vocational training program and have an overall grade point average of greater than or equal to 2.0.  Applicants are also asked to provide two reference letters that speak to school performance and activities, provide a copy of current transcripts and fully complete the scholarship application which includes a short essay. Scholarships will be awarded as cash payments that can be used for any education related expenses, i.e. tuition, books, lodging, etc.  Proof of enrollment will be required prior to receiving scholarship funds.  Enrollment must occur within the first two academic years from the date of the scholarship award, i.e. 2019 – 2020 if the award was made in 2019.

Application deadline for the 2020 progam is Friday, May 22, 2020 no later than 3:30 p.m.  Applications will be reviewed by the PALKI Board of Directors and applicants may be invited for an interview.  The scholarship(s) will be awarded at the Point Arena High School Senior Awards Night.  

 Students and interested parties can contact  PALKI Executive Director Mark Hancock at (707) 882-2777 or Markh.PALight@gmail.com with any questions about the program.  The 2020 application package is available by clicking on the image below.

2019 Scholarship Winners

$1,000 Scholarship Award winner Carina Fuentes received her award from  PALKI Executive Director Mark Hancock at the Point Arena High School Senior Awards event on June 11, 2019

The Point Arena Lighthouse Keepers, Inc. (PALKI) awarded 3 scholarships for 2019.

$1,000 Scholarship Winners

Nizz Badgett

Carina Fuentes

$500 Scholarship Winner

Brynney Zamora